Yeah, this isn't working

I need some help. I have no networking experience. I bought the BrickPi and the Dexter Industries SD card. I went through the instructions many times, but was not able to get the Brick to connect to my computer using an Ethernet Cable. The putty program always timed out with no connection. I am able to connect to the BrickPi with my TV and a mouse. I tried to run the Python test motor program and got the error message #No module named BrickPi What do I do now? Sadly, I don’t even know how to reformat the SD card. If I can’t connect to the internet how can I run the updated file install that keeps getting mentioned on the forum? Dexter promised me a card that would work, but apparently it does not. Do I wipe out the card and start from scratch? How do you do that? Ask Dexter to send me a new card? I have been reading the forum and I have no idea what people are talking about. I really thought that this would be an easy to use item. From what I have been reading, it seems that you need some advanced skill to set this up. Am I in way over my head? I am a simple physics teacher who had some Legos motors and sensors laying around. I wanted find a way to teach the kids coding (I have some Python experience) but this has turned out to be a giant fail. Does anyone have any advice?

oakyjoey,
Sorry to hear about these troubles. It’s not time to give up yet though, or to reformat your SD card. We developed the ethernet method of connecting to try to make it super easy, but it’s not necessary to get going.

First question: do you have a way to hook up the RPi to the internet? Can you plug it directly, via Ethernet, into your home router?

Next question: when you hookup your RPi to your computer, and you power up the RPi, do all of the lights next to the ethernet port light up? Do they form any pattern or do they just seem to be sending and receiving info.