Adding a PiSense hat on top of GrovePi+

Greetings -
I’m wondering if there’s any issue in adding a PiSense hat to the top of my GrovePi? I’d rather not lose the D5/6 plugs, but I’m not aware of another way to attach multiple hats. If it’s not showing already, I’m pretty new to all this.
The end goal is using the assembled group to run an autonomous robot. I’ll also be adding a grove motor board and servo controls.
I do realize there’s grove sensors that do the same functions (IMU, display) as the PiSense, but I have the PiSense now!
Thanks in advance for suggestions.

I am interested to hear what Dexter response is to this question but I would assume so, I assume both boards use IC2 protocol to communicate so as long as they have different address it will be fine. With IC2 you can stack anything that has a different address without a conflict.

Hi @bigal & @Shane.gingell

So, both of these boards (the GrovePi and the PiSense) use I2C and SPI.
In both of these cases, the I2C is the de facto protocol used for data communication, so this is a good thing because you can have multiple devices on the same line.

I haven’t got a chance to work with PiSense, but by looking at the specs I see that it’s using the SPI protocol for reprogramming the AVR chip.
So, as long as you don’t have to have to burn the AVR of any of these 2 boards, you should be fine.
But if you want to reprogram them, you’ll have to stack one board at a time on the Raspberry Pi and do the operation.

Also, check for I2C address conflicts when stacking the 2nd board (the PiSense).
Pay attention that the GrovePis address is 0x04.

Thank you!

2 Likes

I did a quick attempt last evening, and they don’t seem to be compatible unfortunately. I only had a few minutes to spare, sorry about that. But I couldn’t find why they were not compatible. On paper it looks like they should be.