Charlie gets some (much needed) exercise!

Greetings!

I finally have something interesting to post about Charlie - aside from him getting rebuilt for the umpteenth time. . .

Today I got Charlie running, logged in via noVNC, and started looking at the “Projects” folder. The “Camera” robot project caught my eye so I started playing with it. (Sorry, don’t have any code snippets since it’s late and Charlie went to bed.)

I figured out how to:

1. Invert the camera image. (camera.rotation=180)
  2. Center Charlie’s head servo so it points forward.
    (And conversely, how to turn-off the servo when I’m finished with it.)
  3. Move Charlie around without banging into too many things.

The result is two videos of Charlie wandering around my living room. (It’s a mess, we’re painting.)

These videos are large - 51 and 77 megs each - so I’m not posting them here. However, I am including links:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/1ha2vbllwev9uzz/Charlie_goes_walking_1.webm (50.55 MB)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/rtfev46fflz5byk/Charlie_goes_Walking_2.webm (76.72 MB)

In the first file, he goes exploring and bumps into a few things.
In the second file, he goes a little bit further exploring the living room. Of course, he’s still having trouble getting around. (The mouse control over Charlie is a bit over-sensitive. I’m going to see what I can do to damp that down a bit.)

Questions for the developers/anyone who might know what’s going on:

1. Any attempt to set the video resolution to anything other than 320x240 or 640x480 results in no video, though on the PiCam site it lists a whole bunch of valid resolutions and mentions that the “default” resolution is something like 1690x1280, (or something like that, again I don’t have the page in front of me - I was running on a different system.)

2. Because the video resolution is so low, the view-port’s field of view is very constricted, providing a view that is unnecessarily magnified. This makes accurate navigation difficult.