Dust sensor problems

Goodmorning!

as a newbie python programmer i want to tinker with my pi2 with a grovepi+ attached and the Grove Dust sensor. I installed the needed software for the grovepi+. Doing sudo i2cdetect -y 1 gives

0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- 04 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
40: 40 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --                         

(i have more sensors installed (and will install more) but want tot start with the dust sensor)

When i run grove_dust_sensor.py i get indentation errors… why and how do i solve this? I am using Python 2.7.9.
When i run grove_firmware_version_check.py i get the following:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/home/pi/Desktop/GrovePi/Software/Python/grove_firmware_version_check.py”, line 40, in <module>
print (“GrovePi has firmware version:”, grovepi.version())
File “build/bdist.linux-armv7l/egg/grovepi.py”, line 258, in version
return “%s.%s.%s” % (number[1], number[2], number[3])
TypeError: ‘int’ object has no attribute ‘getitem

Please help!

Scoobie

Hi,
Can you first check the version of the firmware on the GrovePi by running:
sudo python ~/Desktop/GrovePi/Software/Python/grove_firmware_version_check.py. If you get v1.2.5, you are good. If not go to GrovePi/Firmware/Source/v1.2/grove_pi_v1_2_5 folder and run avrdude -c gpio -p m328p -U flash:w:grove_pi_v1_2_5.cpp.hex, then check the firmware version again and then try the example again.

-Karan

Karan,

thank you for replying!

I tried the grove firmware check but got this error again:

File “/home/pi/Desktop/GrovePi/Software/Python/grove_firmware_version_check.py”, line 40, in <module>