Gas sensor MQ9

Hi again :slight_smile:

i’m trying to understand the (readings from the) gas sensor MQ9. I have been reading the code on Seedsstudio to try(!) and better understand the possibilities of this sensor.

As i bought the sensor, i thought i could read the ppm of the three separate gasses. It seems that’s not he case (noob here, so please correct me if i am wrong). As i read the code (seeds) i have to calibrate in my own clean environment and than use these calculated figures on the voltage output (=sensorvalue) of the sensor. Thus get a calculated output of the three gasses.

If so… how can i determine which of the gasses is high CO, LPG or CH4 ? The fact that it seems to use voltage and a calculated gas-separator indicates that such is not possible. If so, this sensor only reports the ppm of the sum of these three gasses.

Am i right thus far?

I started up the provided python code. The code immediately started with results:

(‘sensor_value =’, 83, ’ density =’, 0.0)
(‘sensor_value =’, 82, ’ density =’, 0.0)
(‘sensor_value =’, 84, ’ density =’, 0.0)
(‘sensor_value =’, 77, ’ density =’, 0.0)
(‘sensor_value =’, 84, ’ density =’, 0.0)
(‘sensor_value =’, 81, ’ density =’, 0.0)
(‘sensor_value =’, 86, ’ density =’, 0.0)
(‘sensor_value =’, 83, ’ density =’, 0.0)

The sensor value seems to hang around 84 but the density is always ‘o.o’. I guess this is not normal? What am i doing wrong?

Many thanks for the help!

Scoobs

Hi,
Looks like the code has a bug and the reason you are getting density as 0 is because it density here is the sensor_value/1024. If you just change it to sensor_value/1024.0 you’ll get better values.