GoPiGo3 Driving Issue

I am currently in a robotics class at my university and we are using the GoPiGo3 with Raspbian for Robots as our OS, a RaspberryPi3, and we are using the GoPiGo3 Golang packages to write programs for our robot. My current issue is when using the the methods SetMotorPosition and getMotorEncoder, the right motor seems to be either rotating faster than the left one or starts moving before the left one so it slowly veers left as it moves forward until eventually the left one catches up with the right motor and straightens out. Is this an issue with the hardware or is it an issue with the methods?
This is my function that I am using, I am new to Golang so if my coding skills look weak its because they definitely are.

This is my output, I printed out the encoder position of the left and right motor so it reads left position on top and right position directly below it.
In my test I am only having the GoPiGo3 drive six feet and then stop.

Hi @Sousa8657 and welcome to the forum.

it’s possible this is actually a hardware issue. At the back of the motors, you will find a spinning disk (well it’s spinning when the robot moves) and next to the spinning disk are two small sensors. Those sensors have to be within a couple of millimeters from the spinning disk and the top of the sensors should line up with the top surface of the disk.

Is that the case?
Can you send me photos of both motors, showing that disk and its sensors?

1 Like

I can’t speak for the original poster, but I can speak from experience using Charlie’s build as an example.

When I first assembled my 'bot, the hall-effect sensors were not even close to being in the same position. One was about 3-5mm away from the magnetic disk, the other was over a centimeter away.

I carefully adjusted both to about 1mm away, maybe even less, as I adjusted them to be as close as possible without touching the spinning wheel.

This begs the Musical Question:
What should the spacing be?