Grove DHT temp+hum. sens. via gopigo board

Hi,

I’m new to this robotics stuff, but super excited. I love the gopigo bot - motors work, servo works, got video streaming working via VLC and the pi cam, the bot now produces and records sound via Creative Labs Soundblaster USB sound adapter and alsa tools, and the ultrasound ranger should be arriving Monday. Been wanting to do this for 20 years- now so glad it is possible with a more-or-less plug-and-play set up.

But I’m not quite there. I would like to use the additional ports on the gopigo to directly attach additional sensors. Thinking this would be easy - like everything else has been - I went ahead and bought the Grove temperature and humidity sensor, and I’ve been trying to write a program to read t. and h. from this sensor. The grovepi code gave some hints, but I’ve had no luck with the sensor attached directly to the gopigo board. Reading the specs, it sounds like this sensor needs a serial port. But the grovepi diagrams have it connected to a digital port. Then the code seems to be reading and writing from i2c. So, I tried setting it up using the grovepi configuration with the sensor attached to gopigo digital port D11 (front right and bottom port) and I used the code pasted at the bottom of this message. The code throws an error when trying to write a block to i2c. I was hoping you could help with a few questions:

1. Which port should I be using?
  2. Does the D11 port correspond to pin 11? Likewise, which pins are associated with the gopigo ports i2c, A1, and serial?
  3. How is the command number set? Is this a unique, arbitrary identifier, or does this correspond to an address in the hardware (or something different)?
  4. Is the ‘address’ variable always set to 0x08 for gopigo / raspberry pi?
  5. My grove t. & h. sensor is version 1.2. Does this influence the module_type variable or something else (or nothing else!)?