Grove-LCD + Led and NodeJS

Hello,

I’m a newbie with GrovePi and I’ve understood how to extend AnalogicSensor to use sound sensor. But it becomes more complicated (for me) with Grove LCD and Leds. Please do you know where I can find some samples ?

Regards
Philippe

Hey Phillippe,
We have examples for the Grove LCD and OLED on our github repo here: https://github.com/DexterInd/GrovePi/tree/master/Software/Python/grove_i2c_oled_128_64, https://github.com/DexterInd/GrovePi/tree/master/Software/Python/grove_oled and https://github.com/DexterInd/GrovePi/tree/master/Software/Python/grove_rgb_lcd . Do have a look and let us know if you have any questions.

-Karan

Hi Karan
Yes I’ve already used it, but now, I would like to do the same thing with NodeJS

Philippe

Hey Philippe, I don’t want to send you on a wild goose chase here, but I think the best way to try to suggest this is to go to our github repo for GrovePi.

The developer who’s been working on it is really responsive, really nice and helpful guy. I’m sure he’d be happy to talk to you about it.

Best, John

I’ve made the NodeJS/javascript version of the Python library to write data to the LCD screen through i2c and to change the background color. It requires the i2c-bus and sleep libraries.

var i2c = require('./node_modules/i2c-bus/i2c-bus');
var sleep = require('./node_modules/sleep/');
var GrovePi = require('node-grovepi').GrovePi

var Board = GrovePi.board

var DISPLAY_RGB_ADDR = 0x62;
var DISPLAY_TEXT_ADDR = 0x3e;

function setRGB(i2c1, r, g, b) {
  i2c1.writeByteSync(DISPLAY_RGB_ADDR,0,0)
  i2c1.writeByteSync(DISPLAY_RGB_ADDR,1,0)
  i2c1.writeByteSync(DISPLAY_RGB_ADDR,0x08,0xaa)
  i2c1.writeByteSync(DISPLAY_RGB_ADDR,4,r)
  i2c1.writeByteSync(DISPLAY_RGB_ADDR,3,g)
  i2c1.writeByteSync(DISPLAY_RGB_ADDR,2,b)
}

function textCommand(i2c1, cmd) {
  i2c1.writeByteSync(DISPLAY_TEXT_ADDR, 0x80, cmd);
}

function setText(i2c1, text) {
  textCommand(i2c1, 0x01) // clear display
  sleep.usleep(50000);