Grove Pi and wind sensor

Hi all,
I am new in the the community and my knowledge about grove Pi, Python, etc are very weak.
I bought a RPI ZERO WH and a grove Pi with BME680. Thank’s to a friend of my I could get correct value and record to a Mysql.

I also bought a wind sensor, for direction and anemometer. Connect the anemometer to the D3 and wind direction to AO, as if I understood the first one give a digital signal and the other one is analog.

My grove pi is update to Firmware 1.4.0.
Does anyone have a very easy python script to get the value from wind?
Thank you in advance.
Alessandro

1 Like

Welcome in!

My question would be "does the Grove Pi even support the Pi zero? (Since it is roughly the same as a Pi-1 on a smaller PCB.)

Hi, to be honest I guess grovepi support RPIzero.

1 Like

Yes it does. We even had a GrovePi0 at one point

For the wind sensor, do you have a link to the specific sensor ? I’m fairly certain we don’t have example code cause I don’t think we have this particular sensor.

1 Like

Hi, sure!

with this

1 Like
1 Like

Hi Cyclicalobsessive these are exactly the ones I bought together with the GrovePi0. The point is that I do not find any template to start with.
regards

1 Like

Hopefully, someone will be able to help you. It is an interesting application. You seem to be the first to ask about it.

You state you have connected the wind direction to A0, so suggest you run

cd ~
cp /home/pi/Dexter/GrovePi/Software/Python .
python grove_analog_read.py

and point the wind vane in each of eight directions and record the output value:

• North value=
  • North East value=
  • East value=
  • South East value=
  • South value=
  • South West value=
  • West value=
  • North West value=

Then you can design a script to output the closest direction from an unknown value, using a concept similar to the Bloxter example given in the details section of the website.