Grovepi installation without raspberry Pi

I am a beginner. I have the Grovepi+ starter kit, but not Rasberrypi. Do I need rpi for setting up software on Grovepi? If so,why?

Thanks

1 Like

The GrovePi+ has an ATMEGA 328 microcontroller and firmware that controls a variety of sensors with a variety of communication methods, along with some analog to digital converter channels, and other features.

(You can read more about the ATMEGA 328 here)

(You can read more about the GrovePi+ here

The GrovePi+ microcontroller has “firmware” - you cannot write programs on the microcontroller.

You write programs on the RaspberryPi that use the GrovePi API (Application Program Interface) to tell the GrovePi what you want it to do, such as:

• tell the GrovePi what sensor is attached to what port - e.g. “Grove Ultrasonic Ranger on port 4”
  • tell the GrovePi to read the Ultrasonic ranger and return the distance measurement
  • tell the GrovePi a motor is attached to Port xyz
  • tell the GrovePi to run the motor at 50% power

The GrovePi API uses I2C bus communication between the RaspberryPi and the GrovePi to command the GrovePi and to retrieve results from the GrovePi.

Your program on the RaspberryPi sets up the GrovePi+ ports, and uses the GrovePi+ sensors / effectors to accomplish what you want to happen.

Additionally, the RaspberryPi has some features you will likely use such as WiFi, both for writing your programs remotely, and in the case of “Internet of Things” applications you might want to broadcast sensor values to other devices across the network.

I am a little surprised by your question to the forum. You have a mountain of information to learn. I hope you are in a class that will introduce you to

• the Raspberry Pi,
  • installing the Raspberry Pi OS
  • the Raspberry Pi Operating System
  • a programming language,
  • principles of Wireless Networking
  • the GrovePi
  • the GrovePi API
  • some of the sensors in the starter kit
    • digital sensors