Hardware Issues

First off i just want to say, i love the Gopigo in an educational environment. I purchased 5 of them for our school.

I am however, having some issues with a couple of them. on one it seems like one of the motors are going bad already, it clicks and runs slower than the other, so the Gopigo is constantly driving at an angle.

The second one is a bigger issue. I think i have it diagnosed down to the Gopigo board itself (the red board). When logged in and programing the Gopigo, it randomly disconnects, and when i can actually do some programming, the wheels will only drive forward, no other commands work. I have tested the SD card, Wifi module, raspberry pi,and the motors separately by connecting them to one of the Gopigo’s that work perfectly, and there are no issues. but if i connect the Gopigo board to another system, i have the same issue, no commands except forward work.

Keep in mind, i am still new at this, and we are using Scratch programing to do this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Hey Andrew,
Can you follow the instructions here and run the troubleshooting script for the bad GoPiGo and upload log here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMadpIEYq5o. That would really help us to solve the problem.

If the gopigo turns towards one of the sides, you can reduce that by adding a trim to one of the motors. Follow the guide here to do that: http://www.dexterindustries.com/GoPiGo/programming/python-programming-for-the-raspberry-pi-gopigo/add-trim-to-the-motors/.

-Karan

Hey Andrew, chiming in here with karan. First, thanks for loving the product. I’m sorry about the speedbumps, we’ll work with you through it though.

Karan has a great recommendation to check the trim of the robot that’s not driving straight. One other thing to check for this problem: