How to Set Up My GoPiGo with Raspberry Pi?

Hey guys… :wave:

I am happy to start my journey with robotics and recently purchased a GoPiGo kit. I am fairly new to working with Raspberry Pi and robotics, so I am looking for some guidance on getting everything set up correctly.

Could someone walk me through the initial setup process? Specifically, I’d like to know:

What’s the best way to install the GoPiGo software on my Raspberry Pi? Are there any specific commands I need to run in the terminal?

Once the software is installed, how do I properly connect the motors and sensors? Are there any diagrams or videos that would help visualize this rails process?

After everything is set up, what’s the easiest way to test the GoPiGo? I’d love to try a simple program to get it moving!

I also check this: https://forum.dexterindustries.com/t/using-servo-package-without-gopigo-connected-to-gpio-raspberry-pi-connecto But I have not found any solution. Could anyone guide me about this?

Thanks in advance!

Respected community member! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

1 Like

Congratulations on choosing the GoPiGo3 as your robot. You made a great choice.

Question: Where do you want your “journey” to take you?

Please reply with answers to the following questions:

• What Raspberry Pi model are you installing on your robot?
  • Have you used a “Linux” type operating system before?
  • Have you taken a class in any programming language before?
  • What computer operating system { Windows, Mac, “Linux”} will you be using to connect to your robot?
  • Have you thought of a name for your robot?

Now to your questions:

The best process:

1. Assemble the robot per the Getting Started Guide
    Follow the instructions carefully, and double check each step. Do not hurry.

When you reach this spot in the guide,

Ignore that “Learn how to launch DexterOS and Raspbian for Robots” link