IOErrors - Kind of need urgent help!

Hi all,

My name is Kadar and I’m a student at James Madison University. Our ISAT department has 6 of your GoPiGo robots and we love the product so far, but are running into some issues!

We have our final project due Monday and got together as a group to run our code, but each of our robots gives us “IOError”'s when we run the code. I’ve tried now on two different GoPiGo kits and with multiple SD cards – no dice.

Since the errors were vague, I looked at the gopigo.py file and edited the exceptions to include which method was having issues, and it seems to be the write_i2c_block code that is causing our errors.

To be specific, when we send something like fwd(), time.sleep(1), left(), it’ll either carry out one command, or all, or none. It’ll IOError on the commands it can’t carry. This happens whether I try pre-provided code (basic_robot_control.py) or self-written code.

My knowledge in Linux is enough to be comfortable working on it and working in the CLI, so don’t be afraid to give me technical instructions to carry out – that’s not an issue.

Some details that you might ask for: Yes, I have updated the firmware to 1.3 and YES I disconnected the motors before doing so. I have tried on two different GoPiGo kits and have the same issue. I will try again after wiping the SD card clean and re-installing tonight, but I’m not getting my hopes up. I have tons of fresh batteries and my voltage is usually around 9.8 or so. I don’t have any trim settings right now but that’ll be the next minor tweak to make.