Just unboxed GrovePi: connects OK via VNC: can't type Underscore in Terminal

Hi all, my name is Mike and I’m a complete Newbie to Raspberry Pi. Just received and unboxed the GrovePi and followed the directions to get it connected to the network. I can easily get to the ‘welcome’ page (Raspbian for Robots) that offers the choices of VNC or Terminal.

Using the instructions on webpage [https://www.dexterindustries.com/GrovePi/get-started-with-the-grovepi/], I managed to get down to the middle of Test The Grove Pi. Item 7 has me trying to check the firmware version. I followed the directions to change the directory then tried to type in the command: sudo python grove_firmware_version_check.py When I type the ‘underscore’ character, nothing happens in the Terminal screen. Alpha characters work fine, the hyphen works fine, just not the Underscore. I tried this using a second computer and have the same problem.

The first computer is an HP desktop with an HP keyboard. The other is a Surface Pro 3 with the Surface Type Cover [keyboard].

To type an Underscore, I’m holding down the Shift key and clicking the Hyphen/Underscore key. The key works properly here_ _ but doesn’t populate the character into the Terminal window.

By the way, I have no programming knowledge and it’s been years since I did anything with MSDOS but some of this looks familiar, such as CD to Change Directory. I did a Search in the Forums for the word “underscore” and didn’t find anything that sounded like this problem.

Does anybody have any ideas? Thanks in advance!

Mike

That is weird, It is most likely a vnc bug. I highly recommend using ssh, it is very reliable. Plus there isn’t very mainy reasona to use vnc. If you must run graphical programs run ssh -x pi@your pi’s ip adress. Also try plugging it in to a monitor, keyboard, and mouse etc. Ssh or just plugging in a monitor should work. Also who vnc are you using?