Raspberry Pi B+ and Arduino

Hello everyone!

I am working on a project and want to understand if its doable or my direction is not correct.

I am just getting started with Raspberry Pi. I have the B+ model. This will be my first code.

I have written a communication sketch for Arduion Megas using SimpleModbus Library. So basically you can tie like 32 megas as slave and make one master and then create a communication mechanism between the boards using RS-485 driver.

I want to use Raspberry Pi as the master. I was thinking of somehow connecting Arduino Mega with my Raspberry Pi and then accessing the data by setting up a webserver on Raspberry Pi. While researching how to do this, i came across Arduberry. It quickly felt like its something i am trying to do already. So i have few questions regarding this. Please kindly answer them:

1. Is it possible to program the Arduberry other than Raspberry Pi GUI? I feel raspberry is a great product but its kinda slow for coding. Can i somehow upload my sketch using USB or ICSP interface?

2. I am not sure how the data between the webserver and the Arduino will be shared. I want to be able to access the Arduino data over the internet somehow

3. I am a fairy good coder in PHP language (which is used for webprogramming). Can i create a bare minimum sketch in Arduino or Raspberry Pi that enables most of the code logic in PHP?

Thanks in advance

Hi,

1. There are various other ways to upload the code to Arduberry. You can compile the code on your own machine and send the hex file to the Raspberry Pi using something like Filezilla, and burn the code using this command: avrdude -c gpio -p m328p -U flash:w:firmware.hex.