[SOLVED] Momentary Push Button + Scratch to control GrovePi and PivotPi

Hi everyone, I’m a super beginner here so please forgive my ignorance. I recently purchased a PivotPi board for my Raspberry Pi, and just started learning with Scratch. My project uses servos but I wanted to know, is there a way to add a momentary switch to the PivotPi, without using a breadboard?

My goal is to be able to skip between programs with each click, so I purchased a metal pushbutton and wire pair hoping to connect it. As I said before, forgive my ignorance because the wire came with a three prong plug that I think goes exactly where the PivotPi hat is plugged into, so I think that idea is out.

Is there a more obvious way I should do this? Is there a plug-in way of adding a momentary switch, perhaps into the pivot-pi board if that is even possible? Sorry again for the dumb question. D:

Hi @skylerxox,

I’m afraid you can’t connect anything else other than servos to a PivotPi.

If you have a GrovePi around, then you can use that for this sensor - you just need to make sure you can connect the sensor to the board with a Grove cable. Doing the soldering shouldn’t be that hard.

If you do not have one, then the best option is still to use breadboard for it - or at least Dupont cables for directly connecting the Pi to a momentary switch.

Thank you!

Thank you RobertLucian for the quick response.

I’m now leaning towards purchasing a GrovePi as it has more options, but I’m still in need of something to control the servos on my project. I see that a site called Seeed sells GrovePi compatible servos, but wouldn’t that need a servo controller?

EDIT: After some research I read that for controlling the servos with the Raspberry Pi you can connect the PivotPi to GrovePi’s I2C port and then actuate the servos through a Python script. If this is true, can someone tell me if both can be programmed in Scratch?

Hi @skylerxox,