Ultrasonic range ioerror

Hi,

I am completely new to the grovepi.

I attached the ultrasonic ranger to D4 and ran grovepi_ultrasonic.py and got the following error. Any ideas on how to trouble shoot this?

IOError
IOError
IOError
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “./grovepi_ultrasonic.py”, line 5, in <module>
print ultrasonicRead(pin)
File “/home/pi/GrovePi/Software/Python/grovepi.py”, line 111, in ultrasonicRead
return (number[1]*256+number[2])
TypeError: ‘int’ object has no attribute ‘getitem

Thanks,
Eric

Hi Eric,
The Ultrasonic sensor functionality was added in the recent firmware update, so just make sure that you have the latest firmware on the GrovePi. Use this http://www.dexterindustries.com/GrovePi/get-started-with-the-grovepi/updating-firmware/ to update you firmware and try running the program again, if you still face the problem, do let us know.

Thanks,
Karan

Thanks Karan!

There were a couple of things I wanted to check on.

I am getting the same error with the temperature and humidity sensor.
I tried running new_fw_search.sh and it said that I had the latest firmware. my version.txt showed 1.1

I have a friend that was going to help me with the soldering pads, he was wondering if it would work if we connected all of the metal points together with a metal or wire piece with the insulation striped out.

Hi Guys,

I am having a similar problem to this only I am using the DHT Sensor. I have updated the firmware to the newest version.

When I run the example script, the temperature and humidity values are polled but eventually I get the same IOError.

Here’s my test.py code :

#!usr/bin/python

from grovepi import *

while True:
        print dht(2,1)

This outputs an IOError after 20-30 seconds.

I have a second script which takes the DHT Values [temperature, humidity] and adds them to into a mysql database.

IOError
nan
  File &quot;temperature_port2.py&quot;, line 49, in &lt;module&gt;