What's a good treatment of ROS for the absolute noob?

Given:

1. An interest in exploring ROS(x)
  2. A total lack of understanding of the topic
    • As in “it sounds like a class in classical gibberish” to me, with more acronyms than the Federal Government!
  3. A desire to achieve, at the very least, a “wave and say hello” relationship as we pass on the street.

What would you ROS mavins recommend for someone who’s more comfortable with a hardware issue than knotty software?

2 Likes

There are a million ways to get a taste of ROS, but my recommendation is to choose between:

NO LIDAR NEEDED! BASIC GOPIGO3 and My image. (and maybe 2 hours…)

2 Likes

No pain, no gain, I’m afraid on this one. You’ll have to put in some effort to achieve an understanding and that means in my view writing a runnable application using ROS, even if it is very simple.

I recommend the Core ROS tutorials.

https://wiki.ros.org/ROS/Tutorials

3 Likes

If going that route, recommend the ROS 2 tutorials

http://docs.ros.org/en/humble/Tutorials.html

2 Likes

agree - that’s the future so better to start there. You can do a lot in simulation to start with.
/K

2 Likes

In theory, theory and reality are identical.
In reality, they are quite different.
:wink

2 Likes

Hoisted by my own petard!
I agree simulation will only get you so far. But for learning the basics it is really handy - much faster, and you don’t have to focus as much on the “which code is running where” issues that you do actually running ROS(2) on a GoPiGo3.
/K

2 Likes

Ugg - you would not believe the disarray of simulation in the mix of Gazebo Classic and Gazebo Ignition on ROS 2 Galactic and ROS 2 Humble. I just spent more than a day on these four combinations - oh and add three robot simulator source code releases and setting up a dual-boot Windows11/Ubuntu laptop to the four combinations and I have simulated exhaustion.