BrickPi Simple Bot Motor Problem

I have no programming experience but am trying to learn with my Raspberry Pi and BrickPi. I have started the Simplebot project and am running into difficulty:

What I have done thus far:
Set up the Raspbian OS
Downloaded the BrickPi repository thru github
Run install set up based on instructions from the website
Using the microUSB on the RasPi
I ordered the BrickPi SD card via Amazon to try that as well, however it didn’t work.

I am getting the below error but do not know where to research in order to correct:
pi@raspberrypi ~/BrickPi_Python $ python simplebot_simple.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “simplebot_simple.py”, line 47, in <module>
BrickPiSetup() # setup the serial port for communication
File “/home/pi/BrickPi_Python/BrickPi.py”, line 539, in BrickPiSetup
ser.open()
File “/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/pyserial-2.7-py2.7.egg/serial/serialposix.py”, line 289, in open
self.fd = os.open(self.portstr, os.O_RDWR|os.O_NOCTTY|os.O_NONBLOCK)
OSError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: ‘/dev/ttyAMA0’

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Hey Kelly, two questions:

• Can you try running the same command, but putting “sudo” in front of it? So running sudo python simplebot_simple.py That usually solves permission issues. **
  • Can you explain what you mean by “I ordered the BrickPi SD card via Amazon to try that as well, however it didn’t work.”

(an explanation of the use of sudo is here: http://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com/questions/282/why-do-i-have-to-sudo )

Thank you for such a fast reply.

I used the sudo python simplebot_simple.py script. While I did not receive any error, it simply took me to the next line in my terminal window but nothing happens. Is there something else I need to do other than type the “w” to move forward etc.

To answer your question on the SD Card: