Compatibility (A+ and Mindsensors EV3 adapters)

Hi all,

I’m new to BrickPi. I bought it as a gift for my son and am trying to compile the elements necessary to integrate it with our Mindstorms collection. We have EV3 (and RCX) but no NXT parts. Several questions naturally arise, and collecting the answers will, I hope, result in them being added to the BrickPi info page so others can find them.

Here are the questions I can’t answer:

1. What ever happened to the firmware beta that was supposed to allow EV3 sensor compatibility? Was an update released? If I just got my BrickPi, does it have EV3 sensor compatible firmware onboard? If not, is the Beta sound enough that I should consider re-flashing it?

2. The Raspberry Pi A+ seems like a natural match for the BrickPi since it uses so much less power than the B+. (Power Consumption in the A, A+ and B+) It appears that the form factor will work with both Dexter Industries BrickPi enclosures (the A+ is shorter, but has the mounting holes in the same place), and it looks like the pins are in the right place to attach the A+ to the BrickPi. Can the A+ and the BrickPi be used together without tweaking anything? If so, shouldn’t the BrickPi web page proclaim that compatibility proudly? And shouldn’t users be advised that use of the A+ will substantially extend the battery life of untethered BrickPi Bots? If they need tweaking to be made compatible, what kind?

3. For BrickPi users with firmware incompatible with EV3 sensors, will the EV3 sensor adapters and Multiplexer render the EV3 sensors compatible with BrickPi?

Hey Bret,

I’ll try to answer your questions as best as I can.

1). The firmware and updates are still there. Some of the units we have had manufactured now have this firmware in them, but we don’t guarantee it yet. You can test whether you have the firmware on board or not by running the test program in python.