Connecting to Pi

I’m sorta new to this so sorry if I’m a noob.

I’ve followed all your instructions to connect to the pi by vnc viewer but I always get the error message:

connect: Connection timed out (10060)

Hey Ostrich,
Welcome to the world of Raspberry Pi then!

So you’re connecting to the Raspberry Pi via VNC, correct?

Are you trying to connect via WIFI or via ethernet?

Can you paste the changes you made in cmdline.txt? Should look something like this:
like:dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 elevator=deadline rootwait ip=169.253.181.61

Also, can you verify there are no returns in the text file (no new lines)?

Do you have any other way of getting on the Raspberry Pi other than the ethernet route?

After following your video, I tried to use this code to connect by Ethernet to VNC. There are no returns. And as well, like I have said before (in an other forum) my wifi still does not work.

dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 elevator=deadline rootwait
 ip=169.254.0.61

However at the moment I’m using a second monitor which is kinda heavy so I’d like to be able to use it on my laptop.

And as well when I have been trying to install things, I have around 2 gigs of space when my sd card is 8 gigabytes and I looked at the partitions, and it more than 5 gigabytes are not partitioned.

Wow, we’re packing a lot into this one single post.

First, you can expand your Dexter Industries SD Card by running the command

sudo raspi-config
And expanding the rootfs to use all available space on the SD Card. This will make your 8GB accessible.

Ethernet: Ok, you say there are no returns in the file, but it looks like you’ve got a new line in there before “ip=”. Also, another area of concern we’ve seen: if you use the microsoft text editor, it can cause problems. Can you use Wordpad and not Notepad to look at the file and make sure there are no extra characters?