Found a Python State Machine Package - oh boy

I often find after the fact that I have created a reentrant function with one or more variables and a giant if_elif_elif_elif_elif_else with more if_else beneath each elif. Essentially this is a state machine with legal transitions, but it ends up being nearly impossible to get right, to debug, and to maintain.

I found the python-statemachine package which allows a somewhat more readable coding style. I’m still learning all it has to offer and how to code “events”. (There is a running controversy about allowing events in state machines, that I have never understood. It has always been clear to me that events trigger transitions. But then I feel that states should execute code but everyone knows it is the transitions that execute code.)

The Brooks subsumption mobile robot architecture is supposed to be layers of simultaneously executing state machines with an arbitrator to decide what layer is given control over the wheels (or other critical shared resource).

In trying to create a threaded drive_to_the_dock behavior, I have to have the behavior check for an ArUco marker, then issue driving directions while periodically adjusting the drive direction commands to center the marker, all while checking the distance to the dock, and then stopping and turning a 180 and then detecting when the 180 turn is complete.

The code is a nightmare of flags to indicate what section of the code to execute each time the behavior loops, so I need to flatten it into a true state machine.

Wish me luck.

AFAIK, it is events that trigger state transitions and state transitions that trigger actions.

However, IMHO, this whole “controversy” is a debate over what shade of blue the sky is.

Also IMHO, if the code works, be happy.  Then refactor.

1 Like