Getting the parts / sensors support / motor adapters

Hi,

I got a Pi for christmas, more or less by chance. (Funny story. ;D)
Now, I am thinking about what I could do with it. Since I always loved how creative you can be with Lego and I am studying computer science, I searched for a way to combine the Pi with Lego, like the BrickPi does. :wink:

The problem: I never had a Mindstorms set and since they are quite expensive, I will not buy one now. Since I would like to play around with Motors and sensor combined with the brickpi anyway, I would like to buy those parts seperatly.

Question: Do you know any source where I could buy a mindstorm set without the actuall brick? I could also buy the sensors and motors one by one but that would stack up like crazy. :’(A

1. Here is an other question: There are many nice custom made sensors out there for EV3 and NXT. Are they supported and if not, what is needed in order to add support? Maybe edit the programm which is running on the arduino board?

1. Last question for today: There are multiple pictures of the BrickPi which show different versions. How many motors and sensors does the current version, which is offered in the shop, support? (How many interfaces.)

Thanks right away! :slight_smile: The concept is amazing and I realy hope that you are successfull with it.
PS: Could you stack brickPis onto each other? That would be amazing!

Hey RuhigBrauner! Congratulations on your gift. I’ll try to answer these questions as best as I can.

Do you know any source where I could buy a mindstorm set without the actuall brick? I could also buy the sensors and motors one by one but that would stack up like crazy.

This is one of our most popular questions. We’ve got an ongoing discussion about where to get parts here: http://www.dexterindustries.com/forum/?topic=ordering-lego-parts