GoPiGo3 with Fedora-based distro?

All, I’d like to explore the options to run our GoPiGo3 fleet with Fedora (or RHEL or CentOS). Reason is we (as in “Red Hat”) would like to showcase our edge and container application product portfolio in our robot hackathons. I’ve opened an issue, too: https://github.com/DexterInd/GoPiGo3/issues/320

I’m happy to start finddling with this but something stopped me before starting:

From what I understand there is an „old-style“ sysfs interface to GPIO that is deprecated since Kernel 4.8 or so and the new /dev/gpiochip* interface. Most modern distros are starting to use the new interface, notably Fedora-based ones. Linux kernel GPIO user space interface - #embeddedbits

On Fedora and derived the old sysfs-style interface is not enabled in the kernel and pigpiod (@cleoqc mentioned pigpiod is used now) is not available.

I’m not a Python expert and don’t now too much about the Gopigo Python bits… I would be greatful if somebody in the know could give some advise if my endeavour is feasible in the first place. Or if the gopigo software is going to use the new GPIO interface at some point.

Thanks and all the best

• Götz
3 Likes

At the heart of the GoPiGo3 is the python package pigpio and the related pigpiod daemon waiting for pin twiddling requests.

The person that wrote pigpio/pigpiod appears to have a similar more generic client/server package with a different name, so perhaps they would be of assistance:

It appears you or they would need to create a special pigpio to lgpio interface package, or you will need to create a custom gopigo3.py that imports and uses the lgpio interface instead of pigpio.

Is the GPIO available from docker running on Fedora? Perhaps you could install the Legacy PiOS and curl the GoPiGo3 code onto that all in a container. It won’t be optimal, but perhaps something would work.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply!