I2c not working

Hi
I have a 2pcs GrovePI+ and I have the same result.
I tried to connect official oled screen and official I2C motor driver and it doesn’t work. I used basic example for each board.
Nothing display on the oled screen.
On the motor driver, nothing happened and red and green LED on each side stay on.

I2c 0x04 is detected but nothing connected…

My log file :
log.txt (3.1 KB)

I already tried to re install but it is exactly the same.
thanks in advance for your help
Julien

2 Likes

Maybe I’m wrong here, but the 0x04 looks like drivers for the Grove Pi may not be installed.  I’m no expert but at least for the Adafruit RTC clock modules at 0x68, this turns to “UU” once the correct kernel module is loaded by config.txt.

Since you’re running a Pi-3, have you tried Stretch?

1 Like

Could you give links for each device and a link to the software you tried?

I looked at the log file and everything looks normal, so need to see the software examples and specifics on the two I2C devices you are trying to access. There are some old examples that expect connections on /dev/i2c/0 and not bus 1.

[Update: Oh, are you using dexterOS? You may want to give GoPiGo OS a try as it is the most current “official” OS. (Just do not run update on the OS. It will break it.)]

1 Like

Blockquote

No already.

(I need to split my answer because new user can add only 2 links.)

2 Likes

Please find attached files.
grove_i2c_motor_driver.py (2.4 KB)
motor_example.py (2.9 KB)

2 Likes

grove_128_64_oled.py (9.4 KB)

2 Likes

I bought on Digikey:
https://www.digikey.fr/product-detail/fr/103010002/1597-1013-ND/5482491
https://www.digikey.fr/product-detail/fr/104020208/1597-104020208-ND/10667534
Motor driver is “I2C Motor driver v1.3b” bought last year.

I made the installation last year and I ran the update… hoping this with solve the issue…
Do I need to come back to the 2019.04.05_Raspbian_For_Robots_by_Dexter_Industries_Stretch.zip ?

Thank you very much for you help!

2 Likes