IR on GrovePi + RaspberryPi [Python]

Hi,

I recently purchased the IR receiver and transmitter from Seeed studio [Linked below]

And have been looking for python code in order for the IR receiver to work. I came across an article (linked below) regarding the example code in the github repo using a Keyes Remote. I tried to use the code out of the box, but unfortunately it was not able to pick up any of the signals. Further following the advice, I started to use the instructables link starting with step 8

In the tutorial it mentions to “connect the data pin of IR sensor to Pin-18 of Raspberry Pi.”. I’m unsure as to which pin this is relating to in regards to the GrovePi board

I’m a complete novice at raspberry pi and circuitry, and that has probably contributed to not understanding this response well. I have done some research regarding the ports, and trying to figure out which GPIO ports then corresponds to the GrovePi ports but have not been able to find anything of use. – hence my question:

As adviced, I have the IR receiver plugged in to the RPISER port on the grovepi that is connected to the raspberry pi. Following step 8 in the instructables tutorial, what gpio_in_pin number should i put in to allow it to connect?

Hi @gweennnnn,

Can you confirm us that you had run the installer script for the Grove IR Receiver from our GrovePi repository?
Instructions on how to install the dependencies for the Grove IR Receiver can be found right here at this link:

Thank you!

Hi Robert

Yes I have! I have also tried to run the example code with no avail.

Hi @gweennnnn,

Okay. I’m going to test it and then reach back at you and give you a feedback about it.
While I’m doing this, are there any screenshots you might share, logs you’ve got, anything that might be of any help for us?

Thank you!

Hi @RobertLucian,

That would be great, thanks!