Motors won't move

OK, this is my first day with BrickPi and I’m a completely newbie!

Steps so far:

• wrote the image 2014.06.13_Dexter_Industries_wheezy.img to a 8GB SD card and didn’t updat it in order not to overwrite the config.txt
  • connected with SSH via ethernet cable and powered with a separated 9V power supply.
  • successfully run the LED_PWM.py program
  • unsuccessfully run the LEGO-Motor_Test.py program…
  • At first I obtained:

root@raspberrypi:/home/pi/BrickPi_Python/Sensor_Examples# python LEGO-Motor_Test.py
Running Forward
BrickPiRx Error : -2
BrickPiRx Error : -5
Running Reverse

…but then I discovered that was not properly set the USART and I2C variables as other users in this forum complained.

• I have a custom RJ12 to R112 cable…but I tested with a DVM and it is OK.
  • I tested with three different brand-new LEGO motors.
  • It is not the board since LEDs work like a charm and now communications runs perfectly as :

Running Forward
Running Reverse
Running Forward
Running Reverse

contains NO BrickPiRx Errors and ‘DEBUG = 1’ is enabled.

• When I place a DVM at pins 1(Motor power pin) and 3(GND pin) I see a 6.2Vdc with forward but then 1.9Vdc when in reverse…hmmm I think this is strange.
  • I got 4.8Vdc between pin 4 and GND (pin 3).
  • I don’t know what else to test!

Please HELP!!! and Thank you in advance…and warmest regards…

OK. 2nd Day:

I got it to work. The problem was a faulty made RJ12…the 2nd power pin was disconnected.

Nevertheless, this brought me to another important issue: when the motor is froward it can go as at 200 in the duty cycle. But when it goes to reverse, the current-controlled power supply trips and the RPi restarts!.

I solved this by changing the duty cycle to 100 and now it goes in reverse OK. I didn’t increase the current to more than 1A because I’m not trusting the driver and how on earth 9V/1A supply does not power a LEGO motor in backward mode (300mA) without load!.