Please help I can`t contact my pi4 by ssh

Im a student from japan and I buy one Grovepi to prepare make some iot robot. I already install the raspbian for robots OS in my pi. but when i contact pi use my computer , the terminal always say could not find host dex.local. I dont have any idea about it
even I put a ssh file into sd card can not solve this problem
How can i do anything else can solve this issue?
my English is not very good hope someone can help me please :sleepy:

pi`s model is 4 and the OS is Experimental release (for the Pi4) which I install

3 Likes

Konichiwa oukamura,

Only the 32-bit Buster based Pi OS (Legacy) are tested/recommended as base for the GrovePi,

Disclaimer: I do not own a GrovePi+ so this is what I would try if I did:

1. Install Legacy PiOS (Current image at this time is September 2022)
  • Use Raspberry Pi Imager
    • Choose OS → Raspberry Pi OS (other) → Raspberry Pi OS (Legacy)
  • Set it up to connect to your network
  • Make sure it is fully working
    • setup with remote shell or VNC to the desktop
  1. Follow the GrovePi Setup instructions
3 Likes

Thanks for your advice bro

it’s very useful!! :smile: :smile:

2 Likes

Look at this posting:

One other thing you should consider after getting a compatible O/S is configuring the interfaces.

You will need a monitor, mouse and keyboard.
You run raspi-config as root and

• configure networking so that it can connect to your network. I normally start with a hard-wired Ethernet connection to get things running and configure wireless when things are working.

• Enable these interfaces:

• I2c
    • SPI
    • Serial
    • SSH
    • (and maybe others, I don’t remember.)

• DISABLE IPv6 - it causes connection problems.  There’s a special boot-time parameter you can pass and you also should disable it during network connection configuration for both Ethernet and wireless.