Python IDLE with GoPiGo

I am trying to communicate between the Python shell and the gopigo. But how do I connect to gopigo from the Python IDLE? Please help. Also, I want to use putty to connect to gopigo. What are the steps?

1 Like
  1. What OS is running on the GoPiGo3?
  2. What OS is your Python IDLE running on?
  3. Why putty (hardwired serial connection)?
  4. What is your WiFi environment?
1 Like
  1. I am using the Dexter OS that came with the kit
  2. Windows 10
  3. I am trying ways to create a connection with as I found putty can do a SSH
  4. Connecting to GoPiGo robot’s SSID

This is what I did. I turned on the robot, connected my laptop PC to the SSID of the robot. It opens gopigo.com page, I tried the Python there but I found it is a line by line execution.
I found somebody using the Python IDLE to program it. But I am not finding a way to connect the Python IDLE to my gopigo robot. I am a beginner.

1 Like

I don’t run DexterOS, but lacking anyone else chiming in - these are my understanding:

1. DexterOS does allow creating and running Python files. I believe you must have a USB flash drive installed as the save-to destination.

2. To my knowledge, DexterOS is not intended to allow any command line access, not from the browser environment, and not through SSH. @Jimrh may have figured something out about this.

Dexter Industries has tailored the DexterOS capabilities to the beginner, and provided examples and sample programs. Before venturing off into DIY land, it is probably wise to investigate what DexterOS has to offer.

As an older, often set-in-my-ways, user I don’t use any integrated development tools, but am aware that the Raspberry Pi foundation is now teaching Python to beginners using Thonny on “Pi OS” which is Buster based, and that Dexter Industries has been working to get a Buster-based Raspbian For Robots OS into the hands of advanced users.