Grovepi+ Starter kit and Pi4b+

Hi guys, I am new to Grove products and have recently bought their sensor starter kit. I’m not new to the Raspberry Pi however and have completed many projects with sensors and lcd etc. I like the idea of the modular approach of Grovepi but for the life of me I cannot configure a fresh Debian 32bit Os to work with this kit. I have followed the official steps to the letter but none of the commands work as they should. I have searched this topic and tried some of the remedy’s but to no avail. I really want to get going with this kit. Can anyone help. Many thanks,
Chris. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @c.down, welcome to the forum.

Normally, I as a “know nothing about GrovePi+ except what I learned here on this forum”, recommend this thread:

Is this that OS you tried?

What commands are you referring to?
Where you user “pi” when you executed them?
What error messages did you see?

1 Like

Hi, many thanks for your reply. I am using a 32bit Debian Pi OS but I will try that OS that you suggest. It’s interesting that the thread mentions making the user name “Pi”, I did try this when setting the OS up but it suggested strongly that I didn’t. I wonder if that is why when I use the official commands in the terminal errors of “this not found that not found” etc?

2 Likes

When I say commands I mean the command lines suggested by Dexter themselves.

2 Likes

The wrong username will cause no end of strange problems.

In essence, none of this is valid without the username being “pi”.

I agree that trying the base software package first is a great idea, if for no other reason than to verify that things work.

Once that’s done, (and you know how the pieces fit together), you can experiment with porting to other versions and distributions.

Good luck and don’t forget to let us know what’s going on.

P.S.